C’R Bye-Election: Political Parties Sign Peace Accord.

By Our Reporter

Political parties that will be participating at the Ogoja/Yala federal constituency bye-election on Saturday 26, 2022 yesterday signed a peace accord in Ogoja.

The event which was organized by the Independent National Electoral Commission in the State, had political parties, candidates and other stakeholders in attendance.

The State Commissioner of Police, Aminu Alhassan, State Director DSS, Mrs. Promise Iheanacho and heads of other security agencies were also at hand to witness the event.

Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Cyril Omorogbe while commending security agencies in the state assured all present that the Commission was determined to conduct a free, fair and credible elections without compromising standards.

He pleaded for the support of political parties, candidates and other stakeholders to fight vote buying, ballot box snatching and other electoral offences, while assuring that the commission will deploy the bimodal voter accreditation system, BIVAS for the first time in state during the bye-election.

Six out of the Nine political parties participating in the election signed the peace accord, including the two major political parties, the PDP and APC. While only the PDP, APC and Labour party only will be expected to sign the peace accord for Akpabuyo state constituency.

Heads of security agencies present were unanimous in their advise to all candidates and political parties to be cautious as they go about politicking.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button